top of page

Covid-19 Guidelines for Travellers to Italy

Here's a list of guidelines for those travelling to Italy from other countries:

  • List A - Vatican City and Republic of San Marino

  • List B - The States and territories with low epidemiological risk will be identified, among those in List C, by the Ordinance. At present, no state is included on this list.

  • List C - Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Estonia, Finland, France (including Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyana, Reunion, Mayotte and excluding other territories outside the European mainland), Germany, Greece, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands (excluding territories outside the European mainland), Poland, Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira), Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including territories on the African continent), Sweden, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Andorra, Principality of Monaco.

  • List D - Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (including Gibraltar, Isle of Man, Channel Islands and British bases on the island of Cyprus and excluding territories outside mainland Europe), Republic of Korea, United States of America, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions.

  • List E - Rest of the world - (all States and Territories not specifically referred to in any other list).

The new measures for entry into Italy. Ordinance 14 December 2021

The new order of the Minister of Health provides that even those arriving from countries on List C will have to present a negative molecular swab performed within 48 hours or rapid antigenic test within 24 hours, along with the certification of vaccination or recovery and Passenger Locator Form. For those who do not have a valid certification of vaccination or recovery, they are required to undergo a 5-day fiduciary isolation in addition to the swab.

See the section dedicated to the countries in List C

The ordinance has also updated the list of countries in List D. See the section dedicated to countries in List D

Entry from Africa

Persons who have stayed or transited in South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Eswatini in the previous 14 days are prohibited from entering and transiting in Italy. An exception is made for Italian citizens who have been resident in Italy since before 26 November 2021. The measures have been extended and remain valid until 31 January 2022.

COVID-free tourist travel corridors

Health Minister Roberto Speranza has signed an ordinance that establishes - on an experimental basis and with precise safety protocols - COVID-free travel corridors for non-EU tourist destinations. The tourist travel corridors are operating to Aruba, Maldives, Mauritius, Seychelles, Dominican Republic, Egypt (limited to the tourist areas of Sharm El Sheikh and Marsa Alam). Read the ordinance of 28 September 2021 (in Italian only).


Provided that no COVID-19 symptoms arise, there are specific exemptions to fiduciary and buffer isolation measures:

Covid-tested flights

Covid-tested flights are flights that have been authorised by the Ministry of Health by means of a special ordinance.

To learn more about the requirements and the compulsory procedure go to the dedicated section:

Passenger locator form

The digital Passenger Locator Form (PLF) - dPLF, provided for by the Ordinance of 16 April 2021, must be completed by all passengers arriving in Italy, by any means of transport, before entering national territory. See the instructions for completing the dPLF in the dedicated section:


Useful numbers from the Ministry of Health

For further information please refer to:

17 views0 comments


bottom of page